Free PC Support
PC Help Forums from the Experts at Technical-Assistance.co.uk

Google

Search The Web Search This Site
 RSS FeedRSS Feed   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CD / DVD Audio conundrum

Reply to topic    Free PC Support Forum Home -> Helproom
hardwired

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:01 pm    Post subject: CD / DVD Audio conundrum Reply with quote

Hi,

New here and wanna start off with a question that's been plaguing me for months now - might be a simple answer, might not be, but i'm gonna ask it anyway, lol..

Right, to start off, let me tell you about my situation. I'm a music producer / engineer and since buying a dedicated external audio interface (Presonus Firepod) and getting rid of my internal PCI soundcard, i can't seem to record / sample from cd's and dvd's and have tried a million (well a few) ways to do it and still haven't found the best way - i've found answers but not the right ones, or at least the right ones i want to hear, lol..

Ok, my main question is regarding the audio from a dvd-rom drive through the headphone jack. Basically, i'm wanting to run a 3.5mm jack into a double 6.3mm jack lead, into 2 of the line inputs into my external soundcard. I have hooked this up but am not receiving a signal, not even a low one and i have changed the playback of the drive to analogue, which i had to do to hear audio out of the headphone jack with headphones. Is the signal from the dvd-drive in this manner, gonna be strong enough to register a line level signal. Considering i can hear audio from the headphones, i would have thought that this signal was loud enough to record?
The second part to my qeustion is....i know cd audio is fine out of the headphone jack, but what about dvd audio, as its format is different?