Free PC Support
PC Help Forums from the Experts at Technical-Assistance.co.uk

Google

Search The Web Search This Site
 RSS FeedRSS Feed   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Games crash

Reply to topic    Free PC Support Forum Home -> Helproom
Rowan187

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:16 am    Post subject: Games crash Reply with quote

Hello,

I am fairly new to computing and hoping to learn as I go but I do have a current problem with my PC which I can not put my finger on and am hoping for some advise on the matter.

My PC runs rine most of the time but when I come to play games on it I get about 10mins into the game before the screen goes black with white lines running horizontaly accross it and I have to re boot.

This problem on some games can be solved by putting the graphics down to minimum but recently I installed C&C Generals which should run fine but even with the graphics on minimum my PC still crashes after about 10 mins.

The spec on my PC is
AMD Athlon Processor
3200+
2.21 GHz, 1.00GB of RAM

The graphics card is a Radeon 9800pro

Please help I am at my wits end

Thanks...............
SoftStag

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the forum.

The problem you describe could have one of several causes. I am assuming that you never get the same issue when you do anything but using graphics intensive programs (like games).