Free PC Support
PC Help Forums from the Experts at Technical-Assistance.co.uk

Google

Search The Web Search This Site
 RSS FeedRSS Feed   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

installing a new graphics card (Geforce 9800GX2)
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Reply to topic    Free PC Support Forum Home -> Helproom
servaasd

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:12 am    Post subject: installing a new graphics card (Geforce 9800GX2) Reply with quote

Hello, I'm new here and I'm a huge rookie with hardware upgrades etc. That said, here's my "problem". I'll explain as good as I can... here it goes:

Past Problem:
In the past, I tried to change my videocard, but the new one didn't fit my rig... that's when I realised that I don't know anything about pc 'modding'. I need help with this. I don't want to make the same mistake twice.

New Problem:
I want to change my Geforce 9500GT with a GeForce 9800GX2.

Concernes:
- Powersupply: The GeForce 9800GX2 uses more than 500 watt. My current power supply is 400 watt and is model FSP400-60MDN from Fortron Source
- Bus-type: The GeForce 9800GX2 uses PCI Express 2.0. I thought I read somewhere that the geforce 9500GT uses this too. I need confirmation on this.

Sollutions:
- Can someone help me with powersupply-thingy...
- The Bus-type is okay I think, just need confirmation from one of you guys.
- Are there other things I have to worry about? Please tell me.

These are my systemspecs are:AMD Phenom™ X4 9500 quad-core processor
3 GB DDR2 Dual Channel RAM
500 GB S-ATA harddrive, 8 MB Cache, speed:7200 tpm
NVIDIA® GeForce® 9500 GT / 256 MB DDR3 SDRAM
MSI MS-7501 motherboard