Free PC Support
PC Help Forums from the Experts at Technical-Assistance.co.uk

Google

Search The Web Search This Site
 RSS FeedRSS Feed   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Vista Freezing

Reply to topic    Free PC Support Forum Home -> Helproom
salartech

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:35 am    Post subject: Vista Freezing Reply with quote

Help! I bought an Emachines in 2007 preloaded with Windows XP with a Vista Home Premium a free disc (but specific to the Emachine system). I have been running Vista for some 3 years. It runs ok if a bit slow except that the CPU completely freezes randomly. After 5 mins or 10 mins or more of being frozen the CPU starts processing normally again. Occasionally it does not unfreeze at all and I have to power down and reboot it. AVG and Adaware have not found a virus nor has Windows Defender or MS Security Essentials. I usually run only one application at a time. Currently I run Disk clean and Defrag every 2 weeks, Cache and Registry cleaner (CCleaner) runs monthly ; Spamfighter PC Clean runs weekly but none of them makes any difference. The CPU is a Pentium 4 (3.20GH), 1GB RAM; average disk space available is 22GB. I do not believe lack of memory is the cause as when it unfreezes it runs ok. MS tells me to consult seller and / or manufacturer but after warranty seller and manufacturer will not help. If the problem cannot be fixed I want to 1) Reload the Vista disc and / or 2) Reload a dump of my original XP + applications + data that I made before I loaded Vista. I am saving all my data on memory sticks. I don't know if anyone has any experience of similar problems of freezing or experience of re-loading MS Windows or a saved XP dump. I am a bit nervous of both 1) and 2) above as there is the possibility that my PC becomes unusable
SoftStag