Free PC Support
PC Help Forums from the Experts at Technical-Assistance.co.uk

Google

Search The Web Search This Site
 RSS FeedRSS Feed   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

What will be better, please?

Reply to topic    Free PC Support Forum Home -> Helproom
SvenKopitz

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 8:21 am    Post subject: What will be better, please? Reply with quote

Hi everybody! I'm very new at follow stuff, so please help me, if someone can!
There is a little network (37 computers) with 37 TB shared storage and not really a lot of money. What is the best way to optimize data transfer and to backup successfully?
Thank you for now!
SoftStag

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We really need to understand your setup and what you intend to use it for in order to advise.
"Microsoft programs are generally bug-free. If you visit the Microsoft hotline, you'll literally have to wait weeks if not months until someone calls in with a bug in one of our programs. 99.99% of calls turn out to be user mistakes. I know not a single less irrelevant reason for an update than bugfixes. The reasons for updates are to present more new features."
-- Bill Gates, on code stability, from Focus Magazine
Markb

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Although not a huge network that is still a medium sized network, and 37TB is a lot of storage. I know you mention that money is tight, but unfortunately, backing up that kind of volume of data will require some serious investment. We would need know how it is stored, is it distributed on all the PCs or is it centralised. You may have 37Tb of space, but how much actual data and how much of it really needs to be backed up.

Are you sure you mean Terabytes and not Gigabytes.
SvenKopitz