Free PC Support
PC Help Forums from the Experts at Technical-Assistance.co.uk

Google

Search The Web Search This Site
 RSS FeedRSS Feed   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Which graphics card?

Reply to topic    Free PC Support Forum Home -> Helproom
warren555

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:33 pm    Post subject: Which graphics card? Reply with quote

Hi,
I am a real novice but need some help in upgrading my graphics card.
I have an Acer Aspire T310-3970 and would like to upgrade my graphics card from to something better. I use it mainly for watching online sports and maybe gaming in the future. My PC performance score on the graphics side is showing a 1.
What I maninly need to know is:
1. Am I looking for a PCI card or AGP (looked inside and looks like PCI but my internet serch says AGP)?
2. Would any 126mb card work on the system?
3. Don't want to break the bank, just stop the "cloudy" blurred graphics when watching on full screen. Postcard size screen is passable.
4. Am I even looking at the right thing by upgrading the graphics card?
Many thanks in advance for any help thrown my way.
p.s. Just thought I would add, I have a 200w power supply.

My PC specs are listed below:
OS Name Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Business
Version 6.0.6002 Service Pack 2 Build 6002
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer Acer
System Model Aspire T310
System Type X86-based PC
Processor Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz, 2800 Mhz, 1 Core(s), 1 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Phoenix Technologies, LTD R03-A0, 31/03/2005
SMBIOS Version 2.3
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.0.6002.18005"
User Name HOME-PC\Dad
Time Zone GMT Standard Time