Free PC Support
PC Help Forums from the Experts at Technical-Assistance.co.uk

Google

Search The Web Search This Site
 RSS FeedRSS Feed   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

wireless router control

Reply to topic    Free PC Support Forum Home -> Helproom
texacoal

PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:20 pm    Post subject: wireless router control Reply with quote

I wonder if anyone can help I'm pretty new to wireless routers, I have 1 PC hard wired and 3 laptops acessing the internet via my belkin wireless router, what I need to do is to have control over those laptops from my central PC to enable me to "switch off" the internet to any of the laptops from my PC, is there a simple way of doing this?, any help appreciated

rgds

alex
SoftStag

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi texacoal, welcome to the forums!

What you are asking isn't a feature of most routers. Probably the best way to achieve this is to restrict who can connect to the router by MAC address (this is like a fingerprint of the wireless device). You can then enable and disable the permitted MAC addresses as you see fit. This would prevent the PCs connecting to the router at all, so they would not be able to see other computers on the network or anything.

To do this, you would need to log in to the router's administration console, ensure there is a password set that only you know, and configure the router appropriately. Instructions on how to achieve this should be in the manual for your router.